WA Results from Finke Desert Race

Views : 522 views

Posted on June 12, 2017 Tags:  

The 2017 Finke Desert Rally featured 138 entrants in the Car and Buggy division.    WA was well represented and, like plenty of others racers, many entrants had DNFs.  Those West Aussies who did finish had the following overall results:

Of the 19 starters in the Extreme 2WD division (highly modified)

1st    OBR BEAU ROBINSON (WA)/SHANE HUTT (NSW) – Geiser Bros Trophy Truck Chev 6000cc.

Of the 23 starters in the Superlite A division

2nd SLA – Harrop’s BRYCE WASHINGTON (Vic)/GARRY CONNELL – Yamaha YXZ1000 990cc.
9th SLA – Terry Haulage Racing’s DEAN TERRY/JORDON TERRY – Polaris RZR 990cc.

Of the 24 starters in the Pro Buggy division

7th    Undecided Racing’s DARREN AGRELA/STEWART ALLEN – Jimco 2000 Series Nissan VQ35 twin turbo 3500cc.
10th   CCR Racing’s TROY SCHOEN/CHRISTOPHER HARPER – SS RaceTech Pro Hustler Chev 6000cc.
(In an earlier post, I named Troy’s co-driver at Finke as DEB SCHOEN. It wasn’t. My bad).
11th   Elphinstone Racing’s SHANE ELPHINSTONE/CURT ELPHINSTONEHole4shot HS01 Chev 6000cc.

Bikes and Quads

Of the 557 Bikes and Quads who started this remarkable race, 448 riders finished the iconic Finke – an extraordinary achievement.

Outright winner was the NT’s DAYMON STOKIE (above centre) on his Yamaha WR500F. Image: ABC NEWS.

Karratha’s NATHAN BELL finished 12th outright on his Class 2 KTM 500 EXC, as the highest placed West Australian.

Other WA finishers 

31st          MICHAEL MCKELLAR (Bertram) – Class 2 KTM 500 EXC
43rd        CODY UPTON (Carnarvon) – Class 5 Honda CRF450R
49th        MATT LETTEY (Welshpool) – Class 2 KTM 500EXC
83rd        LUKE KITTO (Kallaroo) – Class 5 HONDA CRF
91st         BRENDAN ORLANDI (Kalgoorlie) – Class 5 Yamaha YZF 450
122nd    ALLAN SAUNDERS (Esperance) – Class 8 SHERCO 450
125th     NATHAN KNIGHT (Bridgewater) – Class 7 KTM EXC
133rd     STEWART WINDSOR (Stoneville) – Class 6 KTM EXC500
134th     GLEN TAYLOR (South Hedland) – Class 2 Husqvarna FE501
143rd     EDWARD STANLEY (West Swan) – Husaberg FE501
156th     TODD VAN WINGERDEN – (Witchcliffe) Class 5 Honda CRF450R
159th     LUKE THOMSON (Newman) – Class 1 KTM 300EXC
202nd    KENRIC EBSARY (Perth) – Class 1 KTM 300EXC
206th     JACK HOEY (Landsdale) – Class 5 KTM 450SXF
208th     BEN STEVENS (Kalgoorlie) – Class 5 Honda CRF450
211th     JASON FLOREY (Perth) – Class 8 Honda CR500
221st      LEE CLARKE (Karratha) – Class 5 Honda CRF450RX
243rd     SCOTT RISK (Newman) – Class 2 Husqvarna FE501
246th     THOMAS NORTHOVER (Kingsley) – Class 5 KTM 450 EXC 03:29:19.7
247th     TRAVIS LAWRENCE (Bridgetown) – Class 5 Kawasaki KX450F
259TH   CODY VAN WINGERDEN (Karridale) – Class 5 Honda CRF450X
270th     MARK STIBBARD (Caversham) – Class 6 KTM 300SX
313th     WARREN AXEL (Hamilton Hill) – Class 7 KTM 300 EXC
315th     TYSON BERNAU (Perth) – Class 2 KTM 500 EXC
323rd     MATTHEW LIET (Toodyay) – Class 7 Honda CRF
329th     KATHRYN SCOBLE (West Swan) – Class 4 Honda CRF 250R
343rd     JOHN VAN DER SLUYS (Karratha) – Class 5 Yamaha YZ450FX
344th     JOSHUA CHADWICK (Subiaco) – Class 5 Husaberg FE450
361st      GRAHAM KING (Mundijong) – Class 5 KTM 350 XC
362nd    BRYCE EDWARDS (Kelmscott) – Class 5 H380
385th     HAYDN MOIR (Kalgoorlie) – Class 4 Honda CRF250
393rd     ROB GUY (Joondalup) – Class 7 Husqvarna FE300
399th     JASON SCHMICH (South Hedland) – Class 7 Honda CRF250X
400th     PAUL MACARTHUR (Forrestfield) – Class 8 CAN-AM DS450MX
407th     PETER GREEN (Wickham) – Class 7 KTM 500 EXC
412th     BEN BARRETT (Kalgoorlie) – Class 2 KTM 500EXC
438th     DAVID HANSON (Wongan Hills) – Class 5 Honda CRF450X
439th     SCOTT PERRY (Willeton) – Class 7 KTM EXC
448th     JONATHON DAY (Mount Pleasant) – Class 7 Husqvarna FE


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.





© 2019-2020 adrianchambersmotorsports.com.au All rights reserved.