Close this search box.
Close this search box.

Torque Trophy – Among the most prestigious titles

Views : 1238 views

Posted on August 14, 2018 Tags:      

The annual Torque Trophy, scheduled for Barbagallo Raceway Sunday August 19, 2018 is recognised as among the most prestigious titles among Street Car racers in Australia.   It was named after popular ’70s ABC-TV motoring TV show, “Torque”, hosted by Peter Wherrett (1936-2009) and as good in its day as Top Gear.     Wherrett was Australian motoring journalist, racing driver and allround fascinating character.
He raced Bathurst several times and even had a car named after him (the 1981 Peter Wherrett Special GH Series Mitsubishi Sigma sedan).     He married and divorced three times, wrote a book about cross-dressing and lived out the last two years of his life as a woman – describing that time as “my last great challenge”.
The Torque Trophy has been hotly contested ever since it was first run in 1975, when Bill Nitschke took the title in his Holden Torana LH 74,     Ian Diffen won in the same model the following year.      A host of impressive drivers have stood on the top podium since.     Former longtime WA Sporting Car Club president Gordon Mitchell has held aloft the cup a record seven times,  between 1985 (first up in  the late Frank Cecchelle’s a Fiat 131 Abarth) and finally 2002 in that memorable Fiat Uno Turbo.     Kerry Wade took the honours six times from 2003-2013.
Since 2010 the Torque Trophy has been held high by Peter Major, three-time winner Andrew Stevens, Paul Kluck and reigning champion Brad Cuss (in his Nissan S15).    Mazdas have had 17 wins in the 44 TTs held, with six to Nissan since 2010.
Gordon Mitches passes Les Verco’s Mazda RX3.
This year’s event also features Sports Cars, Sports Sedans, Saloon Cars, Excel Cup, Formula Fords, Formula Vees and the popularTime Challenge.
My thanks to the SCRAWA for their help in compiling this report.  I wish all categories were as proactive.



Torque Trophy 2018 – Driver Information –

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *