Close this search box.
Close this search box.

JB elevated to Hall of Fame

Views : 902 views

Posted on January 10, 2018 Tags:   

My thanks to Justin Murray, and BAM Media.

“I was proud to be included in the Supercars Hall of Fame, but to be recognised alongside the greatest this country has produced across all facets of the sport in the Australian Motor Sport Hall of Fame is something else.” John Bowe.



Below: The Master in Action


There is no doubt John Bowe’s elevation to the Australian Motor Sport Hall of Fame is warranted.    Some might say, long overdue.

The two-time Bathurst 1000 winner, national Touring Car Champion and CAMS Gold Star winner, is a recipient of the sport’s supreme accolade.   The legendary Tasmanian racer richly deserves the gong he’ll  receive officially on Friday March 23, at a gala dinner in Melbourne’s Convention and Exhibition Centre.     (He actually got the medal today, in a clever series of promos for the event!).

The former Formula Vee ace  is the 53rd inductee and joins legends of the sport including Sir Jack Brabham, Alan Jones, Mick Doohan and Peter Brock.      JB now is a true star of that remarkable Touring Car Masters series, featured above, that currently continues to entice the fans through the gates.    A veritable promoter’s dream!


A Formidable Duo. Image:


John Bowe began a successful 11-year partnership with Dick Johnson Racing in 1988.     He scored his first win at Winton and finished runner-up to Dick in that year’s Touring Car Championship.      The following year, the two combined to win the Bathurst 1000, featuring Bowe’s understated “fancy doing that” remark while talking on RaceCam, as he crossed the finish line in the feisty Shell Ford Sierra.

His second and final Bathurst 1000 victory, again with  Dick Johnson, came after a battle with a then fresh-faced Craig Lowndes in 1994.    JB was too good for his competitors in the 1995 Australian Touring Car Championship, winning four rounds on his way to DJR’s last title until 2010. 

John Bowe joins F1 and Sportscar champ Mark Webber who last month was announced as the first 2018 Australian Motor Sport Hall of Fame advance inductee.     The final 18 recipients will be acknowledged on March 23. 

The Hall of Fame recognises contributors across every discipline of motorsport in Australia from circuit racing, motorcycling, speedway, drag racing, rallying, off-road and karting.


Timothy ‘Tim’ Theodore Schenken OAM

And that, in my book, puts 74-year-old Tim Schenken firmly in the crosshairs for Hall of Fame inclusion.     There certainly are others who deserve the honour, but few more worthy.   

He raced in 36 F1 Grands Prix, debuting August  16 1970.   

Tim was the first Australian driver after Jack Brabham to appear on a  F1 podium – the 1971 Austrian F1 Grand Prix – and  score World Championship driver points.   

Tim, now is Director of Racing Operations with the Confederation of Australian Motor Sport.

He is recognised internationally as among the most accomplished and capable officials in motorsport.

Tim was awarded the prestigious Medal of the Order of Australia in the General Division, in the New Year’s Queen’s Birthday honours.


“It’s a great honour of which I am incredibly proud.     I feel privileged to have spent most of my life in motor sport in one capacity or another.  Motor racing has been more than a job, it has been a great passion of mine.      Whether as a driver, team manager, constructor, official and in my role at CAMS, I’ve had the opportunity to work with some amazing people and enjoy the challenges and changes in the sport over a long period of time.” Tim Schenken.


Tim also is an extraordinary man.    And a mate, who also just happens to be an exceptionally nice guy.

John Bowe joins F1 and Sportscar champ Mark Webber who last month was announced as the first advance inductee of the 2018 Australian Motor Sport Hall of Fame, presented by speedcafe,com.     The final 18 recipients will be acknowledged on March 23. 



Formula 1 Sir Jack Brabham, Alan Jones, Phil Irving.

Other Circuit Racing:  Harry Firth, Bob Jane, Peter Brock, Dick Johnson, Allan Moffat, Frank Matich.

Motorcycling: Lionel van Praag, Jack Young, Jason Crump, Kel Carruthers, Wayne Gardner, Mick Doohan, Casey Stoner, Gregg Hansford,T roy Bayliss, Stephen Gall, Jeff Leisk.

Speedway:  Ray Revell,  Garry Rush.

Rally: ‘Gelignite’ Jack Murray, Colin Bond, Ross Dunkerton.

Karting: James Courtney.

Drag Racing: Ash Marshall.

Off-Road: Mark Burrows.

Land Speed:  Norman ‘Wizard’ Smith.

Special Category:  Donald Kingsley Thompson – Administration.


Motor Racing: Alexander Nicholas ‘Lex’ Davison, Jim Richards, Mark Skaife,  Frank Gardner, Kevin Bartlett, Larry Perkins, Vern Schuppan.

Motorcycle Racing:  Keith Ronald Campbell,  Thomas Edward Phillis,Troy Corser.

Rallying: Peter ‘Possum’ Bourne, Neal Bates, Coral Taylor.

Motorcycle – Speedway: Arthur George ‘Bluey’ Wilkinson,  Leigh Scott Adams.

Motorcycle – Motocross:  Ken Rumble.

Drag Racing: Jim Read.

Karting: John Pizarro.

Speedway – CarsJohnny Stewart.

Special Category: John Large – Administration, Ron Tauranac – Engineer.


For further information, please call:

Justin Murray, BAM Group

Phone: +61 429 084 635





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *