Close this search box.
Close this search box.

Serious Action from Turkey and Le Mans

Views : 1214 views

Posted on September 21, 2020 Tags:  

Image courtesy Red Bull Content Pool.

No Fans to Watch Paul’s LMP2 Win!

Scottish racer Paul Di Resta, perhaps better known for his Sky F1 commentary, won his first Le Mans 24 Hour race and helped secure the LMP2 class title for United Autosports. Driving alongside Phillip Hanson and Filipe Albuquerque, ex-F1 driver Di Resta helped his team to victory at the flagship event of the World Endurance Championship with a winning margin of almost 33 seconds over the Jota Sport team in the LMP2 class.

Le Mans winner Paul Di Resta. Image courtesy United Autosports.

And with a fourth consecutive victory for United Autosports also came the LMP2 title, with one round remaining in the 2020 Championship.

Di Resta was making his third appearance at Le Mans and it turned out to be the perfect weekend for the Scotsman and the team after they claimed pole position and the win in their class, finishing fifth in the overall result.

Di Resta Now P2 in the LMP2 Drivers’ Standings

“To win Le Mans is exceptional, especially taking into account that we have now won the last four consecutive WEC races – that’s something quite unique.

“I was fastest in Hyperpole to secure us pole-position with an LMP2 lap record.

“Of course with no fans here this year, it hasn’t been the same atmosphere but it was a great race right up until the end.

“It’ll take a while for me for this Le Mans victory to sink in.

“The team was magnificent all week and our car never missed a beat.”

PAUL DI RESTA 20/09/2020

The Lads Completed 387 Laps

Overall it was a good day for ex-F1 stars as Sebastien Buemi, Kazuki Nakajima and Brendon Hartley teamed up to win the 88th Le Mans 24-Hour Race for the Toyota Gazoo Racing team. They completed 387 laps of the 8.467-mile circuit in the LMP1 class – five more than runners-up Rebellion Racing, who included Bruno Senna in their driver line-up.

It was Buemi and Nakajima’s third Le Mans win in a row with Toyota Gazoo Racing.

“Just after the start we had a puncture and then a brake issue. All of a sudden, you feel like everything is lost!

“But at Le Mans it’s never the case. With what happened to the sister car and the Rebellions, in the end we were there.

“It’s an incredible feeling, I’m so happy we made it. It’s amazing.

“We get to keep the big trophy now, when you win three times.

“That was the main target!”


With – Edited by AC

Meanwhile Welshman wins Rally of Turkey

Elfyn Evans (GB) Scott Martin (GB) of team Toyota Yaris WRC Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT celebrate on the podium in first place after winning the World Rally Championship Turkey in Marmaris,Turkey with Thierry Neuville (BEL) Nicolas Gilsoul (BEL) of team Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT in second place and Sebastien Loeb (FRA) Daniel Elena (MCO) of team Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT, third.
Jaanus Ree/Red Bull Content Pool.

Elfyn Evans won a mad Rally Turkey on Sunday afternoon to reclaim the lead of the FIA World Rally Championship.

He soared from fourth to grab his second victory of the season in a Toyota Yaris from Thierry Neuville and Sebastien Loeb by 35.2sec after a remarkable final morning when punishing rocky roads caused chaos for his rivals.

Evans leads the standings by 18 points with two rounds remaining and was the only front-running driver to escape from the clutches of the fearsome 38.15km Çetibeli speed test with his car intact.

Championship leader Sébastien Ogier remained on course for a podium until he stopped in the second pass through the stage with smoke pouring from the engine bay of his Yaris.

The WRC switches to the Mediterranean island of Sardinia next month for the sixth and penultimate round. Rally Italia Sardegna is based in Alghero from October 8-11.

Rally Turkey Final Standings

1. E Evans / S Martin GBR Toyota Yaris 2hr 43min 02.7sec
2. T Neuville / N Gilsoul BEL Hyundai i20 +35.2sec
3. S Loeb / D Elena FRA Hyundai i20 +59.4sec
4. K Rovanperä / J Halttunen FIN Toyota Yaris +2min 35.9sec
5. G Greensmith / E Edmondson GBR Ford Fiesta +4min 08.3sec
6. E Lappi / J Ferm FIN Ford Fiesta +5min 36.2sec

FIA World Rally Championship (after round 5 of 7)

1. E Evans 97pts
2. S Ogier 79
3. O Tänak 70


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *