Close this search box.
Close this search box.

Peter Major wins QTW ’17

Views : 953 views

Posted on August 14, 2017 Tags:

Co-driver Ben Searcy. Image: BARNSIES PHOTOS.


Thumbs up from Gentleman Jim

“TARGA WEST is a well organised event, the locals are friendly and BARRY and I always have a good time here.”    The words of motorsport legend JIM RICHARDS,  seven-time Bathurst winner and four-time Australian Touring Car Champion.     He and long time co-driver BARRY OLIVERfinished ninth in the 2017 event, which produced two hat tricks.

Both Peter Major and Sharon Gunson scored three on the trot  in Perth’s premier tarmac rally, where competitors are divided into Competition and Challenge categories, with classes for Modern and Classic cars in each.     The Challenge is for showroom style or non-roll caged vehicles.     Vehicles manufactured earlier than 1985 are classed as Classic,  and the Modern class for vehicles manufacture from 1986 onwards.

Modern Competition


Driving most of QTW without ABS in tricky conditions in his 2004 Porsche 996 Turbo, Peter Major and co-driver Ben Searcy finished fastest, taking the top step on the podium.

They held off Peter Rullo and James Marquet’s 2012 Nissan GTR.   Third were Will White and Matt Thompson in their2006 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9, supported by Store Local.     Will also took home the coveted Targa Cup, awarded to the top-placed driver who has competed in the new tarmac series that includes Targa Sprints and Targa South West.

Competition Classic


The rivalry between Ford and Holden continued with a fierce battle in Competition Classic, with honours going to brothers Mick and Daniel Bray in their 1975 Holden Torana.    Simon Gunson and Murray Armenti  and their 1971 Ford Capri Perana took second, with 11-time Targa West veteran Simon Lingford and co-driver Avril Curtis third in their 1973 Datsun 240Z.

 Challenge Modern


Celebrating a hat trick, Sharon Gunson and co-driver Helen Lunsmann of GTi Girls Racing in a 2001 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 7 is the most successful all-female team in QTW’s history.

Dubbed the ‘Challenge Queen’ by her husband Simon Gunson, this is her fourth Targa West win. Sharon and Helen won from rookiesNick Bailey and Kyle O’Neil’s 2010 Volkswagen Golf GTI.

Challenge Classic

Winners Justin Gan and Greg Levene. Image: CMR PHOTOGRAPHICS

In Challenge Classic, Justin Gan and Greg Levene took title honours in their 1978 Porsche 911SC.

Steve Cherry and Glyn Crimp finished second in their bright red 1982 Toyota Starlet, from the 1967 Triumph TR4a of father and son, Bob and Robbie Fisher.

For more information visit and

Media contact:

Dianne Bortoletto, Pronto PR, 0439 997 075,



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *